Raiser Kenniff

Toll Free888-504-2746
Manhattan212-274-0090
Nassau516-742-7600
Suffolk631-338-5711

Failure to Present a Driver’s License

When you’re driving without a license in any state, it’s illegal. While this is true, there are different ways in which a state might differentiate between driving without proof of your license in hand and driving without a valid driver’s license.

Reasons to Lose Your License

When your license has been suspended, that means your driving privilege is revoked for a certain period of time. There are two types of suspension. You can have a definite period of suspension with a starting and ending date. You could have an indefinite suspension, which means something must occur before you can get your license back.

Definite
You might lose your license if you did not pay a traffic ticket or the associated fines from the traffic ticket. You can lose your license if you received too many traffic citations in a certain period of time.

  • Conviction of an alcohol or drugged driving charge
  • Not following the junior driver rules
  • Not paying the suspension termination fee

Indefinite
If you fail to pay your child support or state tax debt, you can lose your license indefinitely, which means you’ll have to pay off the debt before you can get it back. There are other reasons for an indefinite suspension.

  • Not filing an accident report after an accident
  • Not paying a traffic ticket fine
  • Not having liability insurance on the vehicle

You can also be suspended if you have a medical condition that limits your ability to drive in a safe manner.

Revoked License

In some cases, your license may be revoked. A revoked license means it’s been canceled. After the revocation period, you’ll have to apply for a new license. You might even have to take the driving test again. This can happen if you drove without insurance, were convicted of driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol.

Penalties for Driving without a License

Correctable Offenses
If you didn’t have your license with you at the time an officer pulled you over, it’s a correctable offense. That means you can have the citation dismissed once you show the court your license. If you don’t show the court your license, there could be fines and penalties.

Willful Violations
If you drive under a suspended or revoked license, there are stiffer penalties. When pulled over while driving with a suspended license, the person can be arrested for a misdemeanor. If you drive with an expired license, you could be charged with Aggravated Unlicensed Operation. There are fines of between $40 and $300 too. If there are multiple suspensions, there could be felony charges. When a person has their license suspended, it’s usually for a charge like a DUI. The courts don’t like to see a person endangering the lives of others. They take it very seriously.

Possible Jail Time
In the case of multiple suspensions and willful violations, there could be the potential for jail time. Since it’s considered a felony, a lawyer can help with the charges. The attorney might be able to stop your license from being revoked too.

Since the courts are so serious about DUI charges, they might revoke a person’s license permanently after a few charges. This could seriously hamper their ability to work. Driving without a license carries fines or penalties depending on the circumstances.

Our Office Locations

New York

87 Walker Street
2nd Floor
New York, New York 10013

Phone: 212-274-0090

Get Directions

Mineola

300 Old Country Road
Suite 351
Mineola, New York 11501

Phone: 516-742-7600

Get Directions

Bohemia

80 Orville Drive
Suite 100
Bohemia, New York 11716

Phone: 631-630-2295

Get Directions