Failure to Register as a Sex Offender
The crime of failure to register as a sex offender in New York is a serious offense. Under New York law, anyone who was on parole or probation or in prison for a sex crime must register as a sex offender with the New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services. Even if you were convicted of a sex offense in another state, you are still required to register with the New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services within 10 days of moving to New York.
The New York Sex Offender Registration Act lays out all of the requirements for registering as a sex offender and the penalties for failing to comply with registration requirements. Sex offenders have an ongoing registration duty in New York, so it is important to make sure that you understand all of the obligations for reporting so that you do not miss a mandatory deadline.
Requirements for Registering as a Sex Offender in New York
Depending on the level of your sexual offense, the time you will remain on the sex offender registry will vary. Levels are based on the risk assessment of your past sex offense. Low risk offenders are required to register for 20 years. If you are a level 2 or 3 offender, you are required to register for life. You are required to report your home address annually by returning a verification form to the state within 10 days of receipt in the mail. Also, if you change addresses, you are required to update your registration within 10 days. In addition, you must report at least once every three years to have your picture taken by a local police agency.
Consequences of Failure to Register as a Sex Offender Under New York Law
If you are charged with failure to register as a sex offender in New York, the consequences can vary depending on your designated risk level as a sex offender and which portions of the requirements that you violated. Any sex offender that does not register within the 10 day time period required, is guilty of a class E felony for the first offense. Any subsequent convictions of failure to register within the 10 day period are considered a class D felony under New York law. In addition, the failure to register as a sex offender can result in the loss of your parole status or the revocation of probation privileges.
Protecting Your Rights When Charged with Failure to Register as a Sex Offender
The attorneys at Raiser & Kenniff, PC are seasoned defenders of citizens’ rights in this area of criminal law. We understand that the consequences of being charged with a crime can be traumatic, so we work hard to minimize the impact of that situation on our clients’ lives. We help make the entire process as simple and understandable as possible and are available to answer all of our clients’ questions about their case.
At Raiser & Kenniff, PC, we offer a free consultation to discuss any pending criminal charges and see how we can protect your rights. Contact us today at 888-504-2746 to schedule an appointment with our experienced legal team. Do not delay in securing excellent representation in defending your case. This is not the time to take chances in making sure that you are not suffering the consequences of this charge for the rest of your life. Choose wisely in securing the attorneys at Raiser & Kenniff, PC as your legal team.