Residents of New York live in a state that is considered a May Issue state for concealed weapon permits. There are also laws that govern whether out-of-state permits will be honored for people who travel in from other areas of the country. The May Issue governs non-residents as well as residents.
What Does May Issue Mean?
In some states, it’s guaranteed that if you pass the requirements, you will be given a permit to carry a concealed weapon. In the state of New York, there’s no guarantee. The applicant may be granted a permit, or they may not be granted one. It’s up to the discretion of the licensing officer or court depending on the county.
Authority Issuing Permits
In certain counties in New York, the applicant must apply for their concealed carry license through the court. The judge will be the licensing officer. In New York City, the applicant for a license must have it signed and notarized by the License Division of the New York Police Department before the license can be issued. The fees are set by the Board of Supervisors and City Council. There’s a fee of $340 and a fingerprint fee of $94.25, which is set by the Division of Criminal Justice Services.
Where to Apply for Your License
You can choose to apply for a license through the county or city where you have a home or where you work. It could be your main place of business like a store in another county where you’d like to have a concealed weapon for safety.
Requirements for Licensing
You may receive approval for a license to carry a concealed weapon if you are of good moral character. You can’t have been convicted of a serious offense. You cannot have been treated for a mental illness. You must be at least 21 years old, and not be the subject of a protective court order. If you are under 21, but have been honorably discharged from the military, you are eligible.
Where Can You Carry a Concealed Weapon?
After receiving your license, you can carry a loaded handgun in your vehicle. This doesn’t include weapons like a rifle or shotgun. You cannot carry a concealed weapon into any courthouses, government buildings or educational buildings or grounds except those operated by the State University and dealing with science and forestry.
New York and Other State’s Permits
The state of New York doesn’t honor any permits from outside its area. Anyone traveling to New York hoping to be covered under the permit from their home state can find themselves in serious legal trouble. People who fly into New York with a licensed handgun in the locked box in checked baggage have been arrested in New York and charged with possession of illegal weapons.
Appealing a Denial
The licensing officer has complete control over who is issued a license to carry a concealed weapon. The officer must respond to the application within 6 months detailing exactly why the person was denied. If the denial was arbitrary, the denial can be overturned in a court room.
A lawyer can help you with the application process whether you’re an out-of-state resident or live within New York state. If denied, a lawyer can aid you with the appeal process too. They’ll know exactly what to do when you’re denied your right to bear arms. A lawyer is a definite requirement if you’ve been charged for carrying a concealed weapon because you weren’t aware of the fact that your permit didn’t transfer to the state of New York.