Free Consultations & We're Available 24/7

video appearances

Newspaper

Testimonial

Tom is the best lawyer out there across the board. He will get you the best result possible for your situation. He will advocate for you to ensure the BEST outcome.

Lauren Fawcett

Get In Touch

DWI Penalties: 1-3

Information on DWI Penalties

Our experts at Raiser & Kenniff, PC are dedicated to providing clients with the legal knowledge they need to avoid the harsh penalties of a DWI offense. Our many years of experience with DWI charges in New York City provide us with the expertise you need to help fight a DWI arrest. We know that DWI charges can occur at any time, and we are ready to help you deal with  DWI charges 24/7.

DWI First Offense

If you are operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol level of .08 or greater, then you are might be at risk for being arrested for DWI. If you are arrested for a DWI in New York City, it is important that you contact a criminal defense lawyer as quickly as possible.The penalties, even for a first DWI offense, are severe. If you are convicted, you could even be sentenced to one year in jail. You will also be responsible for paying fines that range from $500 up to $1,000. In addition, you will have your driver’s license suspended for six months. You may also have to attend an alcohol treatment program.

DWI Second Offense

If you are charged with a second DWI, it is a very serious situation. This is a felony charge that brings with it a maximum penalty of five years in prison. This is not something to mess around with. If you are charged with a second DWI, you need to contact a criminal defense lawyer immediately.

As well as possible prison time, people convicted of a second DWI offense have to pay fines of $1,000 to $5,000. Your license will be suspended for a year, and you also will have to install an interlock system in your vehicle. This interlock system will require you to blow into a breathalyzer in order to start your vehicle.

DWI Third Offense

If you are unfortunate enough to be charged with a third DWI, you will be staring down a very serious situation. The penalty for those convicted of a third DWI is up to seven years in prison. It also means a fine of $10,000. It will also require you to enroll in an alcohol treatment program, install an interlock ignition device in your car and lose you license for a year.

Criminal Defense Experts

Here at Raiser & Kenniff, PC, we are experts in all aspects of criminal law. We have years of experience helping clients who have been charged with DWIs in New York City. Do not take chances if you are charged with a DWI. Call us immediately at 212-274-0090 to receive a free 30-minute consultation.

Oops! We could not locate your form.