Raiser Kenniff

Toll Free888-504-2746
Manhattan212-274-0090
Nassau516-742-7600
Suffolk888-504-2746

NYC Third Time DUI Lawyers

Third Time DUI

You’re driving along one evening and are stopped by a police officer on suspicion of a DUI. That means driving under the influence … and driving under the influence means drunk … and drunk means trouble.

All 50 states have DUI laws that vary somewhat, but all of them are intended to make the roads safer and drivers more sober. Whether or not you are charged with a DUI rests almost solely on your BAC (blood alcohol content). If an officer stops you on a possible DUI, you will be asked to take a sobriety test. That means a so-called breathalyzer machine, which measures the amount of alcohol in your body. If you are at least 21 years old and your BAC measures .08% or more, you will be charged with a DUI. If you refuse to take the medical test that measures your DUI, you will earn a 1-year suspension of your license.

Not surprisingly, charges on DUI increase with each conviction. For instance, if you are convicted of a second or third DUI offense, your license suspension goes to 18 months… and the charges don’t stop there. With a third DUI, the law regards you as a repeat offender and is very serious about trying to make sure you don’t repeat again.

The fines for a third DUI in New York can range anywhere from $2,000 to $10,000. As a repeat offender, the Department of Motor vehicles can refuse to renew your license for at least 6 years, one year for the suspension and 5 years under the regulation by the DMV. In addition, for 5 years after your license is returned, you will be required to have an ignition interlock device installed. Each time you start your car, you must breathe into a machine that regulates the amount of alcohol or drugs you have taken. If you fail the test, the car won’t start.

Penalties for a third DUI in New York bring even more trouble than fines and suspended license. You might go to jail. You may be sentenced to as long as 7 years behind bars for the felony offense. In addition, you may be under a “look back” period, meaning the time that these charges will stay on your record, which could be as long as 25 years.

A DUI is a very serious charge in new York, and a third DUI can bring serious consequences that can change your life. If you are charged with a third DUI, don’t try to fight it alone. At nyccriminallawyers.com, we know the New York laws that govern these charges and we will fight for your fair rights under the law. A DUI conviction can easily change your life. At nyccriminallawyers.com, we study your case to make sure that the laws have been fairly administered. To fight a DUI charge in New York, you need the best possible defense and the most experienced lawyers on your side. We can provide both. Contact us today and let us begin to work for you.

Our Office Locations

New York

87 Walker Street
2nd Floor
New York, New York 10013

Phone: 212-274-0090

Get Directions

Mineola

300 Old Country Road
Suite 351
Mineola, New York 11501

Phone: 516-742-7600

Get Directions

Bohemia

80 Orville Drive
Suite 100
Bohemia, New York 11716

Phone: 888-504-2746

Get Directions